Sri Lanka commitee of the
International Network for Water and Ecosystems in Paddy Fields



INWEPF is the International Network for Water and Ecosystems in Paddy Fields

The INWEPF is established to provide a forum to realize the three challenges by promoting dialogue, exchanging knowledge and experiences, creating synergy among existing forums and strengthening capacity building in agricultural water management in paddy fields with due consideration for environmental aspects.

Rice is the most important crop for the countries in the Asian monsoon region, providing staple food for the people. As the population is rapidly increasing yet available freshwater resources are very limited, it is crucially important to promote sustainable water use in paddy fields with better governance including participatory irrigation management.

INWEPF Sri Lankan Committee

Advisory Committee

  • Mr. Gamini Rajakaruna ,
    Secretary, Ministry of Irrigation
  • Eng. Nihal Rupasingha,
    Secretary, Ministry of Mahaweli Development and Environment
  • Mr. B Wijayaratne,
    Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture
  • Eng. Y Abdul Majeed,
    Director General of Irrigation, Irrigation Department
  • Mr.Anura Dissanayaka,
    Director General, Mahaweli Authority of Sri Lanka
  • Dr. R R A Wijekoon,
    Director General, Agriculture Department
  • Secretariat and Overall coordination

  • Chief Coordinator: Eng. D D Ariyaratne,
    Additional secretary (Irrigation Development), Ministry of Irrigation
  • Coordinator: Eng. Lalith De Alwis,
    Director (Water Resources Management), Ministry of Irrigation
  • Event Executive officer : Eng. N.D.W.Palliyaguru
  • Correspondent
    Mrs. Vasantha Irani, Snr. Management Assistant, Technical Division, Ministry of Irrigation
  • Publications and Technical Sessions

  • Prof. Sohan Wijesekara,
    Senior Professor, Head, UNESCO-Madanjeet Singh center for South Asia Water Management, University of Moratuwa.
  • Dr. Herath Manthrithilake,
    Head, Sri Lanka Development Initiative, IWMI
  • Dr. W M A D B Wickramasingha,
    Director, Natural Resources Management Centre, Department of Agriculture.
  • Logistics

  • Eng. Sudharman Elakanda,
    Project Director (CRIP), Ministry of Irrigation.
  • Eng. S S L Weerasinghe,
    Additional Director General of Irrigation (I&PD), Irrigation Department.
  • Eng. P U Wickramarathne,
    Consultant Engineer, Mahaweli Consultancy Bureau
  • Eng. S M A Nelugolla,
    Director of Irrigation, Anuradhapura Region, Irrigation Department
  • Eng. G K Pathmakeerthi,
    Director of Irrigation, Colombo Region, Irrigation Department.
  • Communication

  • Eng. (Mrs) Badra Kamaladasa,
    Chair of Sri Lanka water partnership
  • Eng. (Mrs) Anoma Pannala,
    Director (Irrigation Projects), Ministry of Irrigation,
  • Eng. (Mrs) Janakie Meegastenna,
    Director (Water Management), Irrigation Department.
  • Ms. L P C Fernando,
    Assistant Director (Planning), Ministry of Irrigation.
  • Finance and Fund Raising

  • Eng. R M W Ratnayake,
    Secretary, State ministry of Housing & Samurdhi.
  • Eng. N A Sisira Kumara,
    Additional Secretary (Water Resources Development) Ministry of Mahaweli Development and Environment.
  • Eng. Wasantha Palugaswewa,
    Director of Irrigation, Central Zone, Irrigation, Department.
  • Eng. S R K Aruppola,
    Project Director(DSWRPP), Ministry of Mahaweli Development and Environment.
  • Eng. G D F U Perera,
    Deputy Director(Land & Legal ), Irrigation Department